A LETTER TO MY SISTER BOLANLE

Dear Bolanle,

empire_total_war_artwork_20080304111352794_600x300
How are you? I can see you have been doing fine from the pictures uncle Bayo showed me, but I think you still look better with buba and wrapper than those pants you wear and think you are covered. You know the wicked mosquitoes in this village has drawn a map on your skin, and it does not look nice, even though that girl I saw in the picture you took at the beach, would think your skin is perfect because hers is a bee nest. You need to hide that bad skin of yours so that you can bring home a fine man o, and a rich man too.

Eh, uncle Bayo says he has been sending my letters, but you have not replied even one, but I will still write, I enjoy talking to myself in the letters, but please try to reply me, so that my heart will sleep peacefully, I am very worried about you. I hope you are still a good girl, you know we are proud of your moral conduct, so don’t let us down.

Things around here have been dark since mama passed away, I now go to balogun market every Saturday to restock the shop, so Lanre and Titi will not die of hunger. I miss you, I do it all by myself, I wash, cook, run the store, its has not been easy. Well, I have hope that when you return, you will wipe my tears and make me proud with your humour, oh how I miss your bone cracking jokes.

Lanre is fine, he played the masquerade for the new yam festival and fell into the gutter after Father Clinton’s house because he had too much palm wine. He broke his leg, but he is fine, he is a man, he will survive the pain. Titi now plaits hair, she has learnt it so well that she gives me different styles that makes me fine. And me, I am also fine, only that I wonder why nobody wants to marry me, am I so ugly? No man in this village has brought wine, I am not getting younger, I am sad, maybe I should be patient. Well, I have removed it from my mind, and put taking care of you, Titi, and Lanre in it.

You should try to visit soon, your friend Tolu passed away last nite, she did not survive to enjoy the joys of motherhood, in here, I have attached a picture of her baby girl, she named her after you, hoping she will achieve what you have achieved.

This is where I will stop for now, until I write again. I know Uncle Bayo thinks I am mad, but I am not, your death is something I will not accept.  How is it possible that you are dead eh? No o, to me, you are still alive and will return home, my fine sister. So take care of your self. I love you and miss you… Hope to see you soon, I will be waiting.

Your sister,
Fatima.

By Ruth Brodrick. All rights reserved ©, this short story should not be used or shared without the permission of the author.

Author: I- read

This is a free blog aimed at watering poetic minds and quenching the thirst of readers. My passion for words commemorates the desires to speak the truth, interplay with emotions and voice the fights in troubled souls. Welcome to i-read..

8 thoughts on “A LETTER TO MY SISTER BOLANLE”

  1. Humbling letter. I was giggling away throughout as I can relate until the last paragraph! Poor Lanre, he will be just fine until Mama Elemu gets fresh supply of palm wine.

    Good for Fatima for writing rather than bottling it up.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For some strange reason, I expected that ending and now I’m wondering why? hmmm…I love the way she talks to her sister 🙂 But what she will do when Bolanle decides to visit is what I’m not sure about. good one I-read

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

