A Sneak Peek

sneak-peek2

Well basically, now is the holiday season, and I’m enjoying the peace of staying away from medical books and school, until January, but still got my hands on some interesting novels like the colour purple by Alice Walker, it was recommended by a friend, just started reading it, am hoping to drink its water and thirst no more. I have other books by my side like  the all popular 50 Shades of grey by El James, I don’t know why I haven’t read this book until now, I guess the guilt of leaving my big medical books for this was at work. If anyone has read any of this books, I would like some reviews please, thank you…

By the way, this year, has been a hell of a year for me, as I did not pass my medical professional exams, and that was crazily depressing I tell you, and my price was that I had to repeat a class. I watched my folks move on to the next level, while I faced my predicament. Should I say I was happy for them, of course I was, but to be honest, I wished they could wear my shoes so they don’t feel I am not intelligent enough or I did not read hard like they did. I added a lot of weight in the process, as my cravings for junk increased, well, in the end, I took the exams again, and I passed finally. I wondered what I would have done if I did not pass, hmmm.

Now, I’m at home, dedicating my holidays to blogging and reading novels (any recommendation would be deeply appreciated by the way). As for the blogosphere, I explored its boundaries and met some very interesting people and I am most happy to have met them, but if I have to be honest, coping with blogging is crrraaaazzzzzyyyy. In less than 5mins, there are like 15 notifications of new posts from people I follow, and I have to view all and like, probably comment if I remember, because sometimes I get so carried away that I forget to like or comment while I reflect on the piece I just read, but I still try, this is what I signed up for, and what is worth doing, is worth doing well.

I love the spirit in the blogosphere, its loving, caring and supportive. People support me even I write well, and when I don’t, I like that too. And guess what, it’s so frustrating after I put up a new post, I keep refreshing my mails to check how many likes are up, comments, then bam! Maybe nothing at all, then I wish I did not posts that up, or it wasn’t just good enough, then slowly, the likes flow it, did I mention I like that part, haha! it’s the part I call surprise tour.

Oh, and another moment that gives me tachycardia is when I check my followers count and it is the same with the last time I checked, what? I always panic, life is harsh… Then I read some posts, and I go like damn!, how come I did not think of that, this stuff is good. I always get knocked off in times like that, but you know what, it always revives the spirit, by inspiring me to do something different from the usual.

My writings are usually not planned, like the daily prompt guys, I believe I am a vertical writer. The moment comes, and I begin to write. I usually write without having knowledge of where am going to, or what the theme would be, more or less the topic, I just write till the ink spills to the end, then I read up, and most of the times, I find it frustrating giving titles to my posts, it’s the most difficult part of my writing.

One big step or achievement I made this year, was the Brunel University Poetry Prize Competition, I took a bold step on that one. I have never submitted my poems for a major competition, so this was my first. Winners like Warshan Shire, and Liyou Lebsikal, both of which are incredibly awesome poets. I read their poems and I just go blank on my thoughts of being shortlisted, but I am hopeful, because I think from the support I get from y’all, says I am not as bad as I think I am. I was able to have a little chat with Violla Allo, she was shortlisted twice, another amazing poet and writer, I told her about my fears, and I will never forget her words;

” do not worry if you don’t get shortlisted. I have been writing for many years, and I firmly believe that, prize or shortlist or not, I will keep writing and believing in my work. I love poetry beyond measure. And I am happy to see you filled with the same love for words. Words are powerful allies and friends. I hope more people, all over this planet, will put down their weapons and pick up words and artistic endeavors. Art can heal the world. Art can heal Mother Africa. And it already does”

Beautiful and encouraging, isn’t it? In the end, the blogosphere boosted my confidence in my poetry, fiction and writings, so I thank the blogosphere deeply… So, I will stop here, so I don’t get so personal and say things I wish I never said.

It’s a beautiful Sunday, and I wish everyone a happy Sunday and happy holidays.

Author: I- read

This is a free blog aimed at watering poetic minds and quenching the thirst of readers. My passion for words commemorates the desires to speak the truth, interplay with emotions and voice the fights in troubled souls. Welcome to i-read..

27 thoughts on “A Sneak Peek”

  1. I found 50 shades of grey to be tedious reading. Very slow moving and repetitive. There are loads of way better books out there. I am currently reading Having our Say: the Delany Sisters’ First 100 years. Two books recommended to me by a friend, next on my list, are Drinking: A love story and Wild: From lost to found on the Pacific Crest Trail. A movie based on the latter is coming out soon. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And thanks for expressing your frustrations with the blogosphere. ( I like that word). I love it, but it is impossible to keep up with so much! I have followed a lot of blogs, but find that my interactions and reading is limited to only a few. You can’t do everything.

    Congratulations on passing your exams, even if you had to take them twice. Its a great accomplishment!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my dear…your writings are great! I don’t say that lightly. I love your blog, and it is on the top of the list of ones I’m following. Sooo glad you passed that exam! As for writing blogs…I have the same fears of not being good enough, and I wonder if my blogs are too silly, too political or too far out. But this is me being me. 🙂 Keep on keeping on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear, those words are far too kind. I agree with keeping on, our blogs, writings, is simply just being ourselves no matter the odds or not. I also love what you do there at your blog, I love your writings, it depetes an enthusiasm for what you do. I wish you a beautiful Christmas and happy holidays. 🙂

      Like

  4. I have a lot of books that I could recommend for you but I’ll give you a small list.

    “Things Fall Apart” by Chinua Achebe (if you have not read it, i recommend it to you. A great history of Africa, specifically Nigeria)

    “The Dew Breaker” by Edwidge Dandicat (I read this for a class I was taking in college. I kept the book. It’s great)

    “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz (I also read this book when I was in college for a class. If you haven’t read it, then I recommend it).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Nkem, I have read things fall apart as well as the brief wondrous life of Oscar Woa. So I guess I’d go look for the dew breaker once am done with my current book. Thanks for helping a sister.olitical or too far out. 🙂

      Like

  5. Thank you so much for reblogging the request to send cards to the children of Katrina Dawson. I broke my foot and have a dreadful cough and can’t get into the city to leave flowers so decided to put some energy into that. I put a message on my cousin’s FB page. She is a swimsuit model and I can assure you that she has no trouble getting followers. Anyway, I got about 9 people liking my request. She later posted another bikini photo and she got 450 likes. I don’t even think anyone liked it on my FB page. You are the first to reblog. That’s not to say that people haven’t sent cards but just didn’t click but how much effort does it take to send a card? Well, they are the only Christmas cards I’ve sent so far. Need to get moving but it’s been hard to get back into the Christmas spirit.
    Well done for passing your exams. We have doctors in my family and those exams are hard so don’t be too hard on yourself. Well done on the poetry success. Great achievement.
    Book recommendation: The Rosie Project and the Rosie Process. Sorry to refer you back to my blog but I wrote 2 reviews after attending a writer talk. These books are hilarious about a guy with asbergers trying to find a wife and he develops a questionaire to take a logical approach to the quest. I have a heading on my blog with author talks I’ve been to this year and a few recommendations there. xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry about your foot and the cough Rowena, hope you get better soon. Your message is sure reaching out, I have friends already retweeting it from twitter, not like I hav e a lot of followers, but enough kind hearts to pass the message on. And yeah, I laughed about the FB episode, people sure love models, but that doesn’t mean they don’t reckon with the message, I’m sure a lot of cards have been sent which you might no be aware of, so don’t beat yourself, you’re doing a great job with passing it on, those kids sure deserve a good christmas full of love. Would check out your books, got a handful already, do not want to have a lot them lying around and I don’t and up reading them. Try to get back in the Christmas spirit, with all that is happening, the least we can do is show love and care to our loved ones… Love, Ruth.

      Like

      1. It’s by Steven Erikson. I think the first book is called Tears of the Moon or something like that. I know Moon is In the title. One warning: the books take a long time to develop, you’ll want to bookmark the wiki. Excellent series though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

