THE WOUNDED SAPPHIRE

image

Rakishly anticipating the thorns of hope
I stand at the edge of faith flummoxed
Even in the thinnest shadows of my dreams
It seems I bear not a song of preparation

Feeding from an empty pot that lies around
This section of my view rapidly enforces pain
Alternating between the glory of a free fall
At a point where the circus of life curses

An arcade of plummeting triumph skips vain
Escaping the fortunate event of ecstasy
I stay rapping to a series of pointless rhymes
Creating in me the mindset of a mad goddess

Enslaved to a threat that bears shame
A picnic in the arboretum of love I pray for
Wrapped in words of faith praying to bloom
My destiny is a star I see above my weakness

Squinting through the crossed horizon
Betting spirits are fighting for my sake
A slow steady voice speaks to me
Bearing a sigh of relief for the wounded sapphire

By Ruth Brodrick
All rights reserved©
<a href="Breaking the Law“>

Author: I- read

This is a free blog aimed at watering poetic minds and quenching the thirst of readers. My passion for words commemorates the desires to speak the truth, interplay with emotions and voice the fights in troubled souls. Welcome to i-read..

21 thoughts on “THE WOUNDED SAPPHIRE”

  1. Powerful! Speechless…
    “Enslaved to a threat that bears shame
    A picnic in the arboretum of love I pray for
    Wrapped in words of faith praying to bloom
    My destiny is a star I see above my weakness” – Great mixed metaphors!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Indeed… Blogging is like oxygen for me nowadays 🙂 It’s a fun. Learning new things, meeting such a wonderful people like you from around the world is anything but, just a fun 🙂 Seems like world is such a small place, just my laptop screen 😉

        Like

  2. I see you now from a different Reality…a one in which you are a celestial being…They are layers to you i fear to explore but yet curious…O you diamond embedded amongst dull and unrefined rocks(including myself)…forever a fan and an admirer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

