A SISTER’S LOVE

<a href="But No Cigar“>

image

Yesterday, I was a child with a home, today I am an orphan with no home.

My sister cries like a noisy housefly, because mama left us without saying goodbye.

Brother, now takes what is not his,
He said, “we have to survive no matter what”

Then the news came, brother is no more.

Pastor say, he’s off to hell to reap what he sowed
‘Him and your son too,’ I say to pastor, no one is righteous.

Brother was bad-good, he wanted us to eat.
Now my sister cries like a bush rat.

I’m off to the mainland looking for ‘maga’.
It’s just for one night, and I’m making mad money
Wearing designers and giving my sister food.

Now she cries no more, she’s happy and fat.

I’m thin and sick, my tummy hurts always
Doctor say I’ll be a mum soon, but I’m sick,

Dunno who is the father of the baby
So I call him bastard, he’s so ugly.

My sister is back with a degree and looking fine
She said she is now a doctor, but I don’t see how
She’s too small to treat a fat man
But she is good, but I’m getting sicker.

One day, she took my blood, she say is for test.
Then she came back crying, I asked why, she say my blood is bad
I asked how bad, she say very bad like brother’s blood,
I asked why? She said too many man blood in my blood.

I know I will die soon because I can’t move about again
But I’m happy, I made my sister somebody in the world.

I tell her, do not cry for me when I go
Because I sacrificed this blood to make you wear white coats
So for me, it was worth it…

By Ruth Brodrick
Copyright 2015

Author: I- read

This is a free blog aimed at watering poetic minds and quenching the thirst of readers. My passion for words commemorates the desires to speak the truth, interplay with emotions and voice the fights in troubled souls. Welcome to i-read..

23 thoughts on “A SISTER’S LOVE”

  1. Deeep! I-read. As much as I wanted to complain about the choices she made I just can’t! I just can’t!
    I’m sad she had to die, sad her sister found out too late to help, sad she couldn’t live to be happy eventually, sad she was condemned and not helped when she should have, to prevent her from making that choice in the first place. But I’m glad you painted this pix so well.
    I love this poem. Can I share? Thank you I-read.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks dear, and of course you can share this… Sometimes we find ourselves in situations that overwhelm us, and the choices we make matters a lot… I’m sorry it made you sad, I was trying to demonstrate the selflessness of her love, but I’m glad you love it still…

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

