GROWN UP

image

when I was a child
my innocence spoke
it wore white linen
reflecting my inner peace
and my satiable spirit
my eyes were scarlet red
defining the ark of true living
my love, was unconditional
erupting smiles that healed hearts
that was me, the little sunshine…

…this is me, the nagging adult
my prudence lost me as I grew
no more peace, just me in the dark hollow
I wear a black apparel and call it white
but I do know I evolved into me
blame the trauma called love, it broke me
so much that my new profession
is to curse the daylight out of people
my sweetness rode away
leaving me dry and cracked
I am something not everyone knows
but I know me and who I’ve become
the stubborn wild grown up…

                                    ©2015. RUTH BRODRICK

<a href=”http://Simply the Best“>

Author: I- read

This is a free blog aimed at watering poetic minds and quenching the thirst of readers. My passion for words commemorates the desires to speak the truth, interplay with emotions and voice the fights in troubled souls. Welcome to i-read..

19 thoughts on “GROWN UP”

      1. My device is dying until I can afford to replace this is what I have to work with
        My emails are as such that I don’t get posts or comments
        I have to do this thing with wp to see what people say
        It every time consuming
        As always Sheldon

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

