IVORY CAST

dream3

She stayed glued to him
for a thousand years,
yearning for his heart beat
or the helpless breath of awake,
yet he denied her loyalty
and spat on the love she offered,
mocking the tales of Ivory Cast;
the epitome of a fine skinned woman
with the prudence of half an angel.

He said to her, I know thee as beautiful
dauntless like a sapphire, you truly are,
with eyes sparkling tenderness
and lips tearing down denial
but to me, you are nothing.
Weak men see the plastered deceit
but I see the falsity of thy love
and I hear the voices that roam say,
do not look too deep,at a beautiful woman
for her eyes carry the tempt
that will murder you to insanity”.

If beauty was my choice dear Ivory,
you will be my queen for all thy life,
but nay, beauty is the wrinkle of the skin
and character, the beauty of the face.
See now my dear, that you are nothing?
Your beauty is nothing but dust…

©2015. Ruth Brodrick

Author: I- read

This is a free blog aimed at watering poetic minds and quenching the thirst of readers. My passion for words commemorates the desires to speak the truth, interplay with emotions and voice the fights in troubled souls. Welcome to i-read..

10 thoughts on “IVORY CAST”

  1. This is a great poem. I love it. The comparison between the weak and the supposedly strong men is striking. I admire the lines which says, “Weak men see the plastered deceit
    but I see the falsity of thy love.”

    It was said, “Love is blind, and lovers cannot see….” [Shakespeare -the Merchant of Venice: Act 2] If this is true he was definitely not in love with her because he saw the “falsity of her love.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

